Sexual Harassment Compliance Training – US State Requirements
S.B. 1343 requires that all employers of 5 or more employees provide 1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to non-managerial employees and 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to managerial employees once every two years. There is no requirement that the 5 employees or contractors work at the same location or that all work or reside in California. Under the DFEH’s regulations, the definition of “employee” includes full-time, part-time, and temporary employees.
AB1825, which is part of the Fair Employment and Housing Act, first became effective August 17, 2007. The legislation mandates state-wide sexual harassment training for any employee who performs supervisory functions within a company of 50 employees or more.
Section 46a-54-200 of Connecticut state law requires all public employers and all private employers with fifty or more employees to provide a minimum of 2-hours of sexual harassment training to all supervisors that work in Connecticut. This training must be provided within 6 months of a person obtaining a supervisory position. There is no requirement for retraining. However, the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights & Opportunities encourages employers “to provide an update of legal interpretations and related developments concerning sexual harassment to supervisory personnel once every three (3) years.”
Delaware Sexual Harassment Compliance Training Requirements
HB 360 mandates that employers with more than 50 employees provide sexual harassment training to all employees. Training must be given to new employees within a year of the start of employment, and every two years afterward. Training for current employees must be given within a year of the effective date of the legislation (or no later than December 31, 2019), and every two years afterward.
Title 26 M.R.S.A. §807 requires employers with 15 or more employees in the workplace to conduct sexual harassment training for all new employees within one year of commencement of employment. Additional training is required for supervisory and managerial employees within 1 year of being hired or promoted into a supervisory or managerial position that covers their responsibilities in addressing sexual harassment complaints.
Every employer in New York State is required to provide employees with sexual harassment prevention training. Each employee must receive training on an annual basis, starting October 9th, 2018. There is no duration specified for the training. Those in a supervisory position must receive additional training on conduct by supervisors and any additional responsibilities for such supervisors.
Under Local Law 96 of 2018, employers with 15 or more employees are required to conduct annual anti-sexual harassment training for all employees. Effective April 2019, employers have one year to implement the training for all employees and must ensure all employees are trained annually thereafter. New employees hired after April 1st 2019 must receive the training within 90 days of their start date
Do you need assistance with Sexual Harassment Compliance Training?
- View Sexual Harassment Training California
- View Sexual Harassment Training Program
- View Anti Harassment and Discrimination Training
- Read our Compliance Training Frequently Asked Questions
Some Related Blogs
- Training Guide for NY and CA Sexual Harassment Compliance
- WEBINAR: Sexual Harassment Training – Complying with New Legislations
- Is Your Sexual Harassment Training Designed to Drive a Culture of Change?
- Unpacking New York Anti-Sexual Harassment Training Needs
- Are You Ready for California’s New Sexual Harassment Training Requirements?